>Week 31 – Philladelphia

IT’S 2007 ALREADY??
Happy new year!! πŸ™‚
I hope everyone had a great new years!
Like I said before we had a quiet night at home, with board games and wine. We also watched ‘Dinner for One’; which is always really really funny! (esp after a couple of glasses of wine!) One thing I forgot to mention before, I have one serious new years resolution; I am giving up red meat for 1 year. No beef,lamb or pork! A said at dinner the other night(while they ate steak) she’s sad for the cows! πŸ˜› which, is kind of true. I’ve been thinking about it for a while now, and a few months ago I read an article in a magazine which definately helped me make my decision… dont get me wrong, i fully understand that the fact that I am not eating meat is not going to save any cows/lambs or pigs! It’s more of a personal challenge than an animal rights thing. I just want to see if I have the discipline to do it!

On Tuesday we took a bus into Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is about 2.5 hours away. We walked through Chinatown and the local marketplace. Went to Hard Rock cafe. We also went to see the liberty bell (Tradition tells of a chime that changed the world on July 8, 1776, with the Liberty Bell ringing out from the tower of Independence Hall summoning citizens to hear the first public reading of the Declaration of Independence by Colonel John Nixon) . We also saw the Benjamin Franklin memorial. The rest of the day we spent just walking around the city and taking fun pics! πŸ™‚ It’s a nice little historic city. It was really cold though! πŸ˜›

The rest of the week i went back to work. On Thursday morning T and C left for Florida, for work. They stayed an extra day for fun too! So I had the house to myself in the evenings until Saturday. The kids spent the night at their dads on Thurs night and at their grandparents on Friday night. Friday night Marion and her sister came over and we watched ‘Invincible’ with Mark Wahlberg and ‘Little Miss Sunshine’ both really good movies. Funny.

Saturday we went to the mall and did some shopping! πŸ™‚ Then we went out for pizza and ice cream. I came home and watched ‘Rain Man’ which I recently bought. Still a really good movie!

Today I just relaxed at home…watched ‘Honey’ (another movie I bought a while ago) which is one of my favourites. I went over to Marions for a little while to discuss our San Fransisco trip in May. We’ve decided that we will fly into Los Angeles and stay there one night, then take a bus to San Fransisco and spend 3 nights there, then take the bus back to LA and spend another 3 nights there. Nothing is booked or finalized yet, but that’s the plan! (and mom; I have looked up where the nearest Redwood forest is! And there are tours that go there, so that’s definately a possibility!! πŸ™‚ ) We’ve looked at a couple of tours of San Fransisco and one of Hollywood in LA too.

Another thing we’re hoping to do before that though is to go to Niagra Falls (the New York side). So, another trip into NYC is in the pipelines. And while we’re there we want to go and see Mary Poppins; which is a new show on broadway.
There’s also a new tv show on, ‘Grease – you’re the one that I want’ where they are auditioning people for the parts of Danny and Sandy for a new broadway show. The catch is, the American public will vote for the winners, like America Idol. The broadway show will start in the summer, so it’d be pretty cool to go and see that, especially if I keep watching the tv show too! πŸ™‚

Oh! More exciting news! I sent an email to a dj on a local radio show, asking about Incubus tickets…(the concert that I really want to go to!) and he replied within hours saying he’d see what he can do…and if I dont hear from him this week, I must email him and remind him! So, I’m really hoping he’ll come through… if not, I’ve found tickets for $150. So, I think I might try and go anyway, the only thing is, Marion doesnt even know who they are, so she’s not willing to pay so much for tickets, so I’d have to go alone, and I dont know if my host parents will let me go alone into DC. So, I’m going wait and see. I have put a bid on a ticket on ebay for $80. hehehe

So, that’s all my news this week!!:)
Hope everyone is doing ok!

Love Bon
xxx

One thought on “>Week 31 – Philladelphia

  1. >Hey Bon had a lot of catch up reading to do sounds like you are having the time of your life makes sense your staying till june 2008 bet everyones gonna miss you. your host parents sound awsome and m is adorable. One thing i would have loved to see is that American Football game thats amazing always wanted to watch one of those. Christmas and even Halloween seem so much bigger over there just from the pictures alone. Oh and you reall have to go to that concert make sure that DJ gets his act together. Really Good to hear from you and I will keep in touch have fun and say hi to m from me…Wes

Comments brighten my day...

