>Every hello has to inevitably be followed by a goodbye…

>So, my brother and his girlfriend came to visit for a week; what an awesome week!!

I was not surprised by the tears that came as we drove away from the airport very early on Sunday morning – but I was surprised by the sense of nostalgia and almost depression I felt when I drove into work on Monday morning. I know it’s just going to take a little while to get back into the normal swing of things, but it really is not fun to say goodbye to family! It was so nice and easy having them stay with us – they were the type of house guests people hope for when they invite people to stay with them. Not only that – but we just had such a great time going out, playing games, chatting, watching funny youtube videos… just an overall awesome time of relaxed sightseeing and hanging out.
My other brother, sister-in-law, and niece stayed with my mom (in South Africa) over the same week, and my mom had to say goodbye to them on Sunday too – so I called her when I got home from the airport and we consoled each other.

Ok – now that we’ve covered the teary goodbye… lets back track to the awesome week we spent together.

I still went into work on Monday and Tuesday, so we didn’t do anything during the day on those days, but on Monday night we went to DuClaw for dinner, and everyone (except me – the designated driver) tried their notorious beer sampler. It was a very fun dinner, filled with laughs.

(Photos: me and my big bro, and Josh and Di – with their beer samplers)

On Tuesday night we had dessert with Matt’s parents and had a relaxing evening at home. I was off of work for the rest of the week, so on Wednesday we went into Washington DC and took in the sights and checked out the Air and Space Museum.

(Photos: Me and Josh in front of the white house & then the Washington Monument, and Josh, Di, & I in front of the Mall)

On Wednesday night I made dinner for everyone (yes – you read that right! I went with a safe recipe that I’ve used a few times before, for Fettuccine Alfredo, and everyone said it was good; not sure if they were being polite…but I liked it- hehe) and we had a few drinks. On Thursday we went into Baltimore and had lunch at Hooters and walked around the inner harbor a little. Thursday night we went for dinner at Medieval Times- which is always a good time!

(Photos: Josh, Di, & I at Hooters, Josh, Matt, & I at the inner harbor in Baltimore,and Matt, Josh, & I at Medieval Times)

On Friday we went into Annapolis and had a great time enjoying the local bars! Hehe! We then went home and had some more drinks, played some ‘rock band’ and ‘just dance’ (which, unfortunately, was captured on the video camera).

(Photos: Us having drinks in Annapolis)

Saturday we had to get ready for a big cookout with Matt’s family and my old host family – while nursing some mild hangovers. The cookout went well… with one small (very agitating) hiccup – but I won’t elaborate, it’s not worth it. Saturday night we had a few last drinks, and hung out.
(Photo: Cheers — our last buttery nipple shots together!)

Sunday morning we all dragged ourselves out of bed at 4.30am to get to the airport in time for Josh and Di’s very early flight.

I was very happy that my hubby was just as lost without our guests as I was – he too had a difficult time at work on Monday and was wondering around the house like a lost ‘fart’ on Sunday. He has also been more vocal about taking a trip to London to visit my bro. I’ve always known how awesome my family is; we may not live close, but we are still family and get along great -we have experienced similar things together, and separately, and in all honesty; we are the only one’s who truly understand what it’s like to be a part of our family (Di included, because she’s been a part of the family almost for as long as my little sister has been alive)…as I was saying, I’ve always known how special our family is – but, now, my hubby understands too, and it truly warmed my heart that he felt as strongly as I did about saying goodbye! I can’t wait for him to meet the rest of my family one day!!

(Photo: not the most flattering..in fact, if he knew it was up, Matt would probably make me take it down… but.. I love him and cherish our marriage, friendship, and companionship)
 

So… now we can relax… for 3 and a half weeks, until our Disney trip!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “>Every hello has to inevitably be followed by a goodbye…

  1. Pingback: Farewell 2012….Last call « My Unassuming Life

Comments brighten my day...

