>Disney Really IS the Happiest Place on Earth

>I remember as a little girl, growing up in South Africa… having a dream to one day go to Disney World – and my dad telling me that one day – when I was old enough to remember the trip; he would take me. It never occurred to my ?five-year-old? self that Disney World was thousands of miles (or kilometers) away, and the exchange rate would have made the trip outrageously expensive and completely unrealistic for our family’s budget. I suppose at some age I realized that it was a dream that would unlikely be fulfilled, and I stopped dreaming about it.

My hubby, of course, having grown up in the U.S.A., a day or two’s drive from Florida, and with parents who were very very strict with their spending – and could thus afford family vacations to Disney…. what was I saying, oh yeah – my hubby, of course, had been to Disney as a child on more than one occasion.

So, we decided that we needed to experience Disney as a couple, before we have any children – especially me, because I needed to soak it all in, without the worry of kids, and to be honest – we needed to enjoy Disney selfishly for US. And that is exactly what we did.

We didn’t feel inclined to fight the crowds for fireworks or parades (although we did catch a parade in the Magic Kingdom by accident)… we didn’t do any shows that were outdoors in the heat…. we did what we wanted to do, when we wanted to do it. It was wonderful, and I am so grateful that I got the chance to experience Disney for the first time, with my amazing husband – who put up with me acting like an excited three year old – who happened to fill up two autograph books… and got pictures with almost every character she saw!! (Oh, and the creme de’la creme…we had dinner in Cinderella’s Castle, where we “mingled” with the princesses and had a spectacular three course meal.)

Yes – I embraced Disney like a child, yet we enjoyed the adult side of Disney too. We made numerous visits to the World Showcase in Epcot and had drinks in “Germany” and “France”. We saw Cirque du Soleil – La Nouba at Downtown Disney —- which was the MOST amazing show I’ve ever had the privilege of seeing, I was close to tears a few times, just from the sheer beauty and visual art of it all—–. We took naps in the afternoon and went for dinner and drinks in the evenings. It was everything I could have hoped it would be.

I will write up another post, describing our experience in more details…including a mild panic attack and some tips on how to make the most of Disney – because we really seemed to have a very pleasant time with minimal wait times on most days!

Once again – I hope everyone is well!
Much Love

Comments brighten my day...

