Summer 2011

Summer is in full swing over here- temperatures are high, the humidity is insane!! But- I love it, because I know what winter will bring… The cold, and I really hate being cold!!

We have no big vacation plans for the summer- over here, most families take a vacation in the summer time.

This year, we got a new refrigerator and dishwasher instead! ๐Ÿ˜›

This month is probably our busiest month this summer.

We helped with a habitat for humanity build last weekend. Habitat for Humanity is an awesome organization that helps people become home owners, by renovating old decrepit houses- with the help of volunteers and the soon-to-be home owners- and helping them budget effectively, so they can manage their money in order to pay their new mortgages.

It was a great afternoon spent with great people. Matt and I joined the ladies from the small group I attend, and some of their family members, and of course, the wonderful habitat staff. Our group helped build awnings over back porches… It was really fun and felt good to do something physical and new!

I helped screw some spindles into place, nailed two pieces of wood together for the awning support, I used a chop saw to cut the spindles, and to cut angles into the awning beams.

Next weekend we are going to a soccer game: DC United (the local team) vs. Everton (the Premier League team from England). Everton is hubby’s favorite team, so, of course, it is mine too!! ๐Ÿ™‚ so we are very excited to be able to see them play here!!

The following weekend is a friend of mine’s wedding!! We are spending the night in a nearby hotel, because it is quite a drive to the location and because we figure we will make it a little “mini-vacation”! ๐Ÿ™‚

On a side note- I will be deleting my Facebook page very soon… I’m done with it. For family, and close friends- I’ll be on google+. otherwise- I hope to keep in touch via email or this blog!

Much love & peace.
xx

One thought on “Summer 2011

Comments brighten my day...

