Daughter, Sister, Aunt, Wife, Nanny, Student…..Amateur Baker?

Now, it’s no secret that I enjoy baking… (although, I don’t often blog about it…so maybe it is a bit of a blog-secret?)

However – I’ve really gotten into it over the past couple years – I guess once I got married that tiny sliver of my personality that is domestic pushed it’s way to the surface.

I really enjoy baking different kinds of cookies, for Christmas last year I gave most people cookies – pumpkin and chocolate chewy ginerbread cookies.

I also love experimenting with cupcakes. I’d really like to take a cake decorating class some time in the near future – because I would love to know how to use fondant and be able to decorate cakes (and cupcakes) properly.

So, a month or so ago I tried my hand at baking a cobbler.

Cobbler refers to a variety of dishes, particularly in the United States and United Kingdom,

consisting of a fruit or savoury filling poured into a large baking dish and covered with a batter, 

biscuit, or pie crust before being baked. Unlike a pie, cobbler never contains a bottom crust. 

(From Wikipedia)

I got the recipe from this awesome blog.

What is great about this recipe is that it does not require many ingredients, and in fact, you probably have most of the ingredients already.

(I have literally copied and pasted the ingredients and recipe directly from the aforementioned, and linked, blog)

Blackberry and Strawberry Cobbler

YOU WILL NEED:

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup cold diced unsalted butter
1 large egg
1 cup cold heavy whipping cream
8 ounces blackberries
4 ounces strawberries, sliced
1/4 cup light brown sugar
2 Tablespoons unsalted butter, cold and diced

WHAT TO DO WITH THOSE INGREDIENTS:

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and kosher salt.

Add in 1/2 cup of cold diced unsalted butter and cut it into the dry ingredients with a fork.
Then add in the egg and mix it in.
Pour in the heavy whipping cream and mix to combine. Be careful not to overmix the batter.

Put the batter into a lightly greased 10 inch round cake pan and spread it out evenly.
Place the blackberries and sliced strawberries on top of the batter.

Sprinkle the brown sugar on top of the berries and put 2 Tablespoons of cold diced unsalted butter on top of the brown sugar.
Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes until a knife inserted into the cobbler comes out clean.

Scoop the cobbler out and enjoy!

Final Product

Yummy

This cobbler was delicious!! I didn’t have as many blackberries as the recipe calls for, I can see how it would have been even better with more blackberries!!

Again… I got this recipe from this blog!! I want to be sure to give credit where credit is due…

I have also been using our slow cooker a whole lot more. I recently made some super easy chilli and some awesome BBQ chicken… both great recipes which turned out perfectly! I may have to share those some time soon! 😀

Oh – and if you haven’t already, you could always subscribe to my blog over on the right… that way you’ll get an email whenever I publish a new post… 😉

Hope everyone is well.

Much love and peace

Comments brighten my day...

