Leaving, on a jet plane…

Since I’m going “home” for the first time in a long time – I thought I’d take a page out of Darrel’s book, sorta, and share some thoughts about when last I was on South African soil and where I am now…

I left South Africa on May 21st 2006… I left with every intention of returning in a year, two years tops. In fact, the people at my job (McGinty’s) teased me, and my manager actually told me that there would be a job waiting for me, when not if I came back. I just laughed, because the idea of not returning to my family and friends was ludacris*.

When I left S.A. :

  • I was lost — I did not know what I wanted to do with my life, au pairing was a way to take some time and figure out my future.
  • I partied far too much
  • I thought I knew what love was, but really had no clue..
  • I did not appreciate my friends and family enough
  • I was a few days shy of 20 years old and thought I knew everything, including who I was
  • The last thing I expected to do was fall in love
  • I approached everything with the mindset that “I could die tomorrow”

I love my family and friends – and this is why it was crazy to me to even consider that I wouldn’t return… but — God had other plans… Although it is still difficult to be away from everyone – I wouldn’t be where or who I am today if it weren’t for Matt, the people I’ve met, and the opportunities I’ve been given here in the U.S.A.

Since being in the U.S.A I have:

  • realized true love and found my soul mate, whom happens to be my best friend**
  • traveled,
  • faced my fear of heights and ridden roller-coasters,
  • made my first snow angel (I have a video – I’ll have to unearth it)  and snowman,
  • been scuba diving (which also entailed becoming certified),
  • become a home owner,
  • found my passion and purpose,
  • learned to forgive,
  • met some amazing people,
  • seen many awesome bands live,***
  • learned what it means to be a true follower of Jesus,
  • and, grown up.

As a South African, I will always be patriotic to my birth country, I’ll always be a Springboks and Sharks supporter (rugby teams) and I’ll always root for Bafana Bafana (soccer team). South Africa is a beautiful country with awesome people!! Even when I do eventually denounce my citizenship and become an “official” American, South Africa is always going to be a part of me.

I am so excited to be returning in a few days to the place that I will probably no longer call “home”. I look forward to seeing all my friends and family and enjoying all the wonderful things South Africa has to offer. I’ve been compiling a list since our plans began…of all the food and drinks I am looking forward to enjoying while we are there! 🙂

Things I can't wait to enjoy in S.A.

See you all “on the flip side” – have a very Merry Christmas!!!!

A long time ago, a group of girl friends, who called themselves The Peanuts,  amused themselves into fits of giggles by sing/shouting the following song (completely out of tune)…actually, just the following part of the song: “leaving…on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again”.

With each “leaving” becoming more and more like a cat screetching… (I guess, mostly like the first “leaving, on a jet plane” in the clip below)

*Apparently not a real word…

** who vs. whom — I know this kind of thing really bothers people…and I’m not 100% sure of the rule…although I should really “get on that” – since I’ll be a teacher…but for now…please forgive me if I am messing that up horribly – I blame it on the excitement! 😛

*** some of my favorites: Incubus, Jamie Cullum, Jimmy Eat World, Dashboard Confessional, Conor Oberst, City and Color, Matthew West, Jeremy Camp, Josh Kelley, Ryan Cabrera, Paramore, We the Kings, Armor for Sleep, The Academy Is…, Anberlin, Muse, My Chemical Romance…

P.S. — I have updated my “The Legal Alien and the Five Woodland Critters” post with some photos — please check it out!

Some Additions To My List (I’m sure there will be more):

milk tart

peppermint crisp (and to use one like a straw to drink milk…yum)

boerie rolls (i didn’t put this down – bec we’ve already planned a bunch of braais/cookouts – but here it is for posterity)

baboetie

koeksisters

super moo

11 thoughts on “Leaving, on a jet plane…

  1. Hi Bon, always love your updates, and very much looking forward to seeing you back “home” in a few days and having dinner with you on Monday!
    Much love and happy travels, Margie

  2. bonita!!! i am so happy to have found you again! and a very hard lady you are to find!

    i miss you daily adn wish we could have met up when you had come down!

    please send me a mail if you can hun. cindy.bagley28@gmail.com.

    miss you tons. love cindy.

  3. Hello there!
    I’m a preschool teacher from Singapore, teaching expatriate children. One of them was Dutch and South African and he was just aaaadorable.I miss him after reading your post! I’ve always thought of quiting my job some day, travelling some where far and becoming an au pair, but I just haven’t got the guts I suppose.

  4. Hey bon. Hope you r well. Just read your blog on your return to SA. I was also there for Christmas, for the first time since 2008. I can really relate to all you blogged about. I have been back in the UK for a week now and am battling a bit to he honest, but reading this made me realize that these feelings are all just part of modern day life, and many of us have to go through the same thing. Anyway, just thought I’d pop in to say hi. All the best for 2012. Take care, cal

Comments brighten my day...

