One Day Without Shoes

Wearing skinny jeans, a warm long sleeved shirt over a thin one, a scarf, a light jacket, and nothing on my feet – I grabbed my keys and opened the door… ready to head to work. Immediately the cold March morning rose to meet me… the weather had been unusually warm for the beginning of spring, but on this day – there was a definite chill in the air. I took a deep breath and stepped out, closing the door behind me. As soon as my bare feet met the cold cement pathway, they protested… by the time I had walked the eight steps to my car my feet had begun to cramp from the cold. As soon as I got into the car I put the heat on to warm up my feet….. 

There you have it… a 20-something woman living in a first world country “giving up” her shoes for a day — tough right? Not really… Yes, it was cold enough to cause my feet to cramp (something I’ve only ever experienced once before – last year on this “without shoes” day) and walking even on the side walk barefoot is tough on my delicate usually-protected feet…. but, I don’t have to walk anywhere far, I get to warm my feet up with the car heat, I can walk in a nicely floored, heated house most of the day – and, let’s face it – it’s only one day…not much of a “sacrifice”.

Many people, specifically children, are not so fortunate. They do not have the choice – it is their reality, every.day.of.their.lives.

Before I explain the purpose of giving up my shoes for today – I want to share a little about an amazing company, founded in 2006, called TOMS. This company is a for-profit company that sells shoes and now glasses too. They’re amazing because for each shoe they sell – they buy a pair of shoes for a child in need – delivering them all over the world. For every pair of glasses sold they improve someone’s eye sight by either providing them with prescription glasses or surgery. Not only that – but recently TOMS began the Ticket to Give… where every week they select a customer to take on a trip to deliver shoes. How amazing is that? All you need to do is make a purchase on their website and you’re entered…

Back to why I went without shoes today…

Every year TOMS “hosts” One Day Without Shoes to “raise awareness of the impact a pair of shoes can have on a child’s life by going without shoes”

Why Shoes?

Many children in developing countries grow up barefoot. Whether at play, doing chores or going to school, these children are at risk:

•A leading cause of disease in developing countries is soil-transmitted diseases, which can penetrate the skin through bare feet. Wearing shoes can help prevent these diseases, and the long-term physical and cognitive harm they cause.

•Wearing shoes also prevents feet from getting cuts and sores. Not only are these injuries painful, they also are dangerous when wounds become infected.

•Many times children can’t attend school barefoot because shoes are a required part of their uniform. If they don’t have shoes, they don’t go to school. If they don’t receive an education, they don’t have the opportunity to realize their potential.”

Have you heard of this movement? Did you go without shoes today, why, or why not? 

Next time you buy shoes, would you consider purchasing TOMS to support their cause?

I am super excited – Hubby and I have both placed an order for our first pair of TOMS:

My TOMS (on their way)

 

Hubby's TOMS (on their way)

 

 

P.S — a friend’s dog (also a Piper) is sick with Pancreatitis and is currently receiving meds, food, and fluids via IV… please keep the dog and their family in your thoughts and prayers — Pancreatitis is no joke and can be life threatening… 😦

One thought on “One Day Without Shoes

Comments brighten my day...

