The Next Chapter

So my practicum has officially begun…

Before it began, I had to say goodbye to big E and lil E…. it was SO hard!! I already started to cry first thing in the morning….

Lil E wasn’t down for breakfast when I arrived, so I went upstairs to check if she was awake and getting dressed, and as I approached her door, she popped out with this huge grin on her face. It took me back to when she was a baby, and when I used to walk into her room in the morning and she would be SO excited to see me. So when I hugged her good morning my eyes were welling up…. I had to walk ahead of her down the stairs so she wouldn’t see. Then, after I got her settled with breakfast, I had a little break down in the bathroom. Later that day when big E asked what I was thinking about (I was a little zoned out), I told her I was a little sad because it was my last day – lil E asked me why I didn’t want to be a babysitter forever.

Being their nanny/babysitter has been challenging and SO rewarding!! I’ve been with them for four years, since lil E was 10 months old and big E was 2.5 years old. I miss them, but am ready to move on to the next chapter….

(Oh, but before I tell you about that…. I can’t forget lil E and big E’s parents — they’ve been wonderful! They have been so supportive and encouraging over the past four years — I couldn’t have asked for a better family to work for. They also spoiled me rotten!! Below is a picture of the little package they gave me….)

Lesson plan book, magnetic apple clip, apple stress ball, school bell, and apple notepad

So, onto this next chapter…

My student teaching officially began last week and it is going very well. My cooperating teacher is wonderful and I feel so supported and comfortable with her. She’s also very accommodating and open to hearing my thoughts and ideas, but most importantly – she is 100% on board with helping me be successful these coming weeks. She’s also an amazing teacher and human and I can’t wait to continue learning from her.

Our class has 20 students – and they are all so sweet…. I can’t wait to be able to watch those little light bulbs go off in their heads when they “get” new concepts, etc. I already got to see one student, who said to me “oh! I get it now!”. Although that was no thanks to me, but it was still special to see! 😉

I did morning routine twice last week – with one day including a review of morning work. That was exciting, because I had never actually taught or lead a whole class before. It went really well and I am feeling my confidence level building up. I am actually super excited to start teaching, but I know I still have a lot to learn.

I also have a lot of work to do — my first “student teaching class” starts next week… and in that class I will develop a professional growth plan (which I’ve already started working on) and will complete half of my Teacher Work Sample (which will be about 9 pages long and include an instructional unit). I also have to plan lessons that I will be responsible for as I begin to take over the classroom…..and I have a major exam next month which is part of my certification.

Needless to say – I may not be around much…and I’m sorry, I know I haven’t been reading and commenting on many blogs lately — this has been a real adjustment for me. I’m waking up at 5am in the morning, so that I can eat breakfast and not feel rushed, and then, I’m pretty much ready for bed before 8pm. Hopefully I’ll continue getting used to the new schedule and I’ll be able to find time for blogging along the way….if not, know that I miss you all – and I’m thinking of you.

xx

 

P.S:

I also made a crayon wreath for the classroom, and a door sign with my name on it. Unfortunately, I had to blur out my last name, so you can’t get the full effect of the door sign, but you get the idea. 😛

Crayon Wreath 1

 

Crayon Wreath 2

 

Crayon Wreath 3

 

Door Sign (with last name blurred out)

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Next Chapter

  1. Pingback: Farewell 2012….Last call « My Unassuming Life

Comments brighten my day...

