Our Adventure Across the Pond

We have been home for four days now… we’re settling back into our routine. But, we’re changed. We’ve been to new places…. we’ve spent time with my family…. and the biggest (and best) change – we became God parents*!

With all this change comes the usual sadness of goodbyes. It was extra difficult this time because of my amazing nephew (and God son). Knowing that I won’t see my brother, sis-in-law, and mom for some time is always difficult. I love my family. But, not seeing my nephew for that long is different — he’ll be like a different little person next time I see him in the flesh. That is heartbreaking – knowing we will miss many many milestones and special moments with him. But, such is life… we don’t always get what we want…. but if you try sometimes…. (sorry – I digress) there is always skype, and that will definitely make the distance easier to endure.

Back to our adventure…. we had a wonderful time in both England and Scotland. Although, a terrible cold/flu/virus spread through us all (except my mom) during the trip – claiming my brother for 13 out of 15 days we were there. We drove across the country to Edinburgh…. which made me terribly car sick. Oh, and on the day we left for Bath – I came down with the virus/cold/flu and was violently ill for about and hour and a half before we left (after being up all night trying my damnedest not to be sick).

All of that doom and gloom aside — we made the most of every day and soldiered on, making new memories, getting to know the youngest member of our family, exploring new cities and countries….and then — getting to share in my nephew’s first Christmas! I can’t remember the last Christmas I shared with my brother and my sis-in-law…it has been YEARS!!!! I did share last Christmas with my mom, but getting to share it with all of them together, with my better-half as well — best gift ever!!

*My brother is 12 years older than I am. He’s always been a role model and major influence in my life. He introduced me to photography, I followed his footsteps into computer programming when I left high school… and his other half – whom I call my sis-in-law, because they’ve been together for almost 20 years!!- has been an older sister to me for as long as I can remember. When they gave me (and my hubby) a card from our nephew, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I didn’t even get through the whole card before I started bawling….. it was such a special way to ask us to be his Guardians. Being asked by my big brother and sister to be the God parents of their first born son was surreal…. knowing that they think highly enough of us to trust us with this responsibility was (and is) such an honor. I still get emotional when I think about it.

The Marble Arch

The Marble Arch

The River Thames

The River Thames

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge

Borough Market, in London

Borough Market, in London

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre

View from the London Eye

View from the London Eye

The London Eye

The London Eye

Big Ben

Big Ben

Bath

Bath

Roman Baths

Roman Baths

Roman Baths

Roman Baths

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

View of Edinburgh from the Castle

View of Edinburgh from the Castle

Tea in the Edinburgh Castle

Tea in the Edinburgh Castle

Tea (and cake) in the Edinburgh Castle

Tea (and cake) in the Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh

Edinburgh

The Beatles Story - in Liverpool

The Beatles Story – in Liverpool

Albert Dock, Liverpool

Albert Dock, Liverpool

Stevenage, England

Stevenage, England

**** Hubby also went to a premier league soccer/football game in Liverpool at Goodison Park. He saw Everton (his fav team) play Chelsea. We also did a tour of Charles Dickens’ house and then the Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol walking tour through London. Also, on our way back from Liverpool we stopped in Bradford to spend some time with my mom’s cousin. On our last (full) day we took a walk to the local pub and had a pub lunch and some drinks.

6 thoughts on “Our Adventure Across the Pond

Comments brighten my day...

